While Khamaj and Bhairab are indeed thaats in Hindustani Sangeet, Kafi is not. It’s often categorized as a raag independently, though it shares strong characteristics with the Bhairab thaat. Here’s a breakdown of the knowledge you requested:

1. Khamaj Thaat:

  • Structure: Seven notes – Sa, Re, Ga, Ma, Pa, Dha, Ni
  • Characteristics: Bright, cheerful, optimistic, often associated with mornings and spring.
  • Swaras: Features Komal Nishad (Ni), adding a soft and delicate touch.
  • Ragas: Yaman, Miyan ki Todi, Bhimpalasi, Basant Bahar are some prominent ragas derived from Khamaj thaat.

2. Bhairab Thaat:

  • Structure: Seven notes – Sa, Ri, Ga, Ma, Pa, Dha, Ni
  • Characteristics: Majestic, melancholic, introspective, evokes emotions of depth and intensity.
  • Swaras: Features Teevra Ma (Ma), adding drama and intensity.
  • Ragas: Bhairavi, Todi, Yaman Kalyan, Jogia are some popular ragas born from Bhairab thaat.

3. Kafi Raag:

  • Structure: Seven notes – Sa, Re, Ga, Ma, Pa, Dha, Ni
  • Characteristics: Similar to Bhairab, but slightly lighter and more graceful. Often associated with love, longing, and separation.
  • Swaras: Shares the Teevra Ma characteristic of Bhairab.
  • Though not technically a thaat, ragas like Yaman and Charukeshi draw elements from Kafi.

Oh Xnap! Looks like we have to do this the old-school way, call us: +91-9620931299